Understanding configuration backups
Backups allow you to restore the configuration settings of OMS to a previous state.
A backup can restore all of your OMS configuration settings.
How to create a backup
You can back up your configuration settings so that restoring them is possible.
To create a backup:
1. Starting in the dashboard, click System > Backup & Restore.
2. Click the new icon .
3. Click Yes to confirm creation of the backup.
 
You successfully created a backup. With it, your configuration settings can be restored.
 
How to restore configuration settings
You can restore OMS to how it was when a backup was created. This can be useful for troubleshooting or even simple archival.
Prerequisite(s):  
This process requires a previously made backup file. This backup file must be located in—or placed into, if it is not already there—the file directory where backups are stored.
 
Note: This process will log you out of OMS upon completion. You can log back in immediately afterwards.
To restore configuration settings:
1. Starting in the dashboard, click System > Backup & Restore.
2. Select one by clicking a table row.
4. Click Yes to confirm the restoration.
 
All of your previous settings are now replaced with the settings inside the backup file.
 
 
Because the process logs you out of OMS, you can log in after the backup is restored.
 
How to schedule backups
You can schedule the creation of new backups. This can help ensure you have access to backups from multiple times and dates in case they are needed.
To schedule backups:
1. Starting in the dashboard, click System > Backup & Restore.
3. Set Backup schedule to Daily or Day of Week to begin making a schedule.
Note: Backing up manually always remains an option, regardless of this setting.
Example: For example, click Daily and then the plus symbol to add daily times.
4. Click the accept icon .
 
You successfully created a schedule for backups. One backup file will be created during each scheduled time.
 
How to change where backups are stored
By default, backups are stored in a subdirectory where OMS is installed. However, this storage location can be changed to a different hard drive or to a mapped network drive, as examples.
The configuration backup files are stored in a ZIP archive. Each backup produces one ZIP archive file, and its total compressed size is less than 100 KB.
To change where backups are stored:
1. Starting in the dashboard, click System > Backup & Restore.
3. Type a different directory path in the Configuration backup location box.
4. Click the accept icon .
 
You successfully changed the storage location for your backups.