How to restore configuration settings
You can restore Apex to how it was when a backup was created. This can be useful for troubleshooting or even simple archival.
Prerequisite(s):  
This process requires a previously made backup file. This backup file must be located in—or placed into, if it is not already there—the file directory where backups are stored.
 
Note: This process will log you out of Apex upon completion. You can log back in immediately afterwards.
To restore configuration settings:
1. In the web interface, click System > Backup & Restore.
2. Select one by clicking a table row.
3. Click the reset icon .
4. Click Yes to confirm the restoration.
 
All of your previous settings are now replaced with the settings inside the backup file.
 
 
Because the process logs you out of Apex, you can log in after the backup is restored.