How to handle sensitive data before and after repairs
You can prepare a Matrix to be sent out for repairs by backing up the system data and then wiping the Matrix of its data.
First, back up your existing data using the backup feature. Then, erase sensitive information before sending the appliance out for repair by performing a factory reset.
1. Create a full backup of your Matrix.
2. Remove data from the Matrix by choosing one of the following:
If the Matrix is accessible on your network, you can perform a factory reset using a web browser. See How to factory reset a connected Matrix.
If the Matrix is already disconnected from your network, you can perform a hard reset on the physical appliance. See How to factory reset a disconnected Matrix.
3. After the Matrix returns from repairs, restore the backup file.
 
These tasks result in the Matrix being free of sensitive data during its repairs, plus it gives the ability to restore the Matrix after it returns.
 
 
When the Matrix returns from repairs or service, you should restore the appliance to its previous state using the backup you created.
 
How to create a backup file
You can back up your configuration settings so that restoring them is possible at a later time or date.
Tip! Logs are not included in your backups. You can back up system logs using System > Backup > Download Logs.
To create a backup:
1. Starting in the dashboard, click System.
2. Click Backup.
3. Click Backup System.
A new download will start in your web browser. Save the file to a secure storage location.
 
The file you download is a collection of your settings and configuration data—your backup. It is necessary for restoring your appliance to a previous state.
 
List of backed up items
A Matrix backup contains these items, but is not limited to them.
 
Log files are not backed up. This can be accomplished by using System > Backup > Download Logs.
Caution: The contents of a Matrix backup can contain sensitive network and user information.
Network configuration (IPv4 and IPv6) and host name
Packet trailer configuration (group ID and box ID)
System clock source (browser time, NTP, more)
Remote logging settings (SNMP and/or Syslog target)
Matrix license1
Rules, layouts, and filters
Contextual help tooltip settings
Authentication schemes with settings
Users and user groups
Internal Device ID
Users’ CLI command history

1 The license is tied to the hardware, so it can only ever be applied to the same Matrix.

 
How to factory reset a connected Matrix
To ensure your Matrix does not retain sensitive information, you can factory reset the appliance to erase internal data. This erases data and restores the system to its factory defaults.
To reset the Matrix to factory defaults and erase internal data and configuration settings:
Caution: Factory resetting a connected Matrix takes it off the network! Because the network settings are erased, it will no longer have an IP address.
1. Starting in the dashboard, click System.
2. Click Backup.
3. Click Factory Reset.
This erases all user settings including the appliance license. Please ensure you have the appliance license available before performing this operation. After erasing, the Matrix will reboot automatically. After reboot it will take approximately 4 minutes to initialize the file system before the UI will be available.
 
The Matrix has been successfully reset to factory settings. Your previous settings, data, and network information have been erased. You can repeat this process if desirable.
 
How to factory reset a disconnected Matrix
To ensure your Matrix does not retain any sensitive information, you can factory reset the appliance to erase internal data. This erases data and restores the system to its factory defaults.
Prerequisite(s):  
To follow these steps, you must have physical access to the front and rear of the Matrix.
 
To reset the Matrix to factory defaults and wipe all internal data and configuration settings:
1. Unplug the power cables from the rear of the Matrix.
2. Press and hold the Power button at the front of the Matrix. Do not release the button.
The Power button is shown at letter D in Figure 6.
 
Figure 6: Matrix front panel
 
3. While holding the Power button, insert the power cable. Continue holding the Power button until the Matrix beeps twice.
 
If the Matrix beeped twice, it has been successfully reset to factory settings. The Matrix settings, data, and network information have been erased. You can repeat this process if desirable.
 
How to restore the backup file
When your Matrix returns to your institution after service or repairs, you can restore the backup you created. This will put the Matrix back on to the network, and all your layouts, rules, users, and more, can be used again.
To restore your Matrix to a previously created backup:
1. Starting in the dashboard, click System.
2. Click Backup.
3. In the Matrix Restore area, click Browse.
4. Navigate to and select the backup file you created earlier.
5. Click Upload.
 
Your backup has been restored, and your data and configuration settings have been applied.
 
 
Because the backup does not include your license, you should now re-license your appliance. You must re-license, but you do not need to request a brand new license if you are restoring to the same Matrix that you sent for repair. Use your existing license.