How to transfer settings to a different Matrix
You can transfer all of your settings to another Matrix appliance. We recommend you do this if you obtain a replacement unit or otherwise want to “clone” your configuration to a different Matrix.
To transfer your settings to a different Matrix:
1. Create a backup file from your existing Matrix.
2. Restore the backup file on your new, or replacement, Matrix.
3. Request a new license because your new or replacement Matrix cannot use the old license.
4. After you have a new license, re-license your appliance.
 
This process allows you to move your backup file to a different Matrix, restore the backup, and then re-license.
 
How to create a backup file
You can back up your configuration settings so that restoring them is possible at a later time or date.
Tip! Logs are not included in your backups. You can back up system logs using System > Backup > Download Logs.
To create a backup:
1. Starting in the dashboard, click System.
2. Click Backup.
3. Click Backup System.
A new download will start in your web browser. Save the file to a secure storage location.
 
The file you download is a collection of your settings and configuration data—your backup. It is necessary for restoring your appliance to a previous state.
 
List of backed up items
A Matrix backup contains these items, but is not limited to them.
 
Log files are not backed up. This can be accomplished by using System > Backup > Download Logs.
Caution: The contents of a Matrix backup can contain sensitive network and user information.
Network configuration (IPv4 and IPv6) and host name
Packet trailer configuration (group ID and box ID)
System clock source (browser time, NTP, more)
Remote logging settings (SNMP and/or Syslog target)
Matrix license1
Rules, layouts, and filters
Contextual help tooltip settings
Authentication schemes with settings
Users and user groups
Internal Device ID
Users’ CLI command history

1 The license is tied to the hardware, so it can only ever be applied to the same Matrix.

 
How to restore the backup file
When your Matrix returns to your institution after service or repairs, you can restore the backup you created. This will put the Matrix back on to the network, and all your layouts, rules, users, and more, can be used again.
To restore your Matrix to a previously created backup:
1. Starting in the dashboard, click System.
2. Click Backup.
3. In the Matrix Restore area, click Browse.
4. Navigate to and select the backup file you created earlier.
5. Click Upload.
 
Your backup has been restored, and your data and configuration settings have been applied.
 
 
Because the backup does not include your license, you should now re-license your appliance. You must re-license, but you do not need to request a brand new license if you are restoring to the same Matrix that you sent for repair. Use your existing license.
 
How to request a new license
Request a new license if you are adding functionality such as additional ports or speed capability, licensing a new replacement Matrix, or in the extremely rare instance where your license file is corrupt.
If you are upgrading several devices, you must generate a license request from each one.
1. Starting in the dashboard, click System.
2. Click License.
3. Click Generate License Request.
4. Verify the name of your company in the Organization box is correct. Click OK.
This generates a multi-line license string.
5. Right-click and copy the entire string (including the License Begin and License End lines) and send it to VIAVI in an e-mail.
If you are keeping the same number of ports and capabilities, send the e-mail to NISupport@viavisolutions.com.
If you are adding new ports or upgrading the capabilities, contact your sales representative.
Tip! If you are upgrading many devices at once, create a document with the host name from System > System Info and device license ID from System > License. Doing so makes matching license to the correct device easier later on when you receive the new licenses.
 
You will receive an e-mail message from VIAVI with the device license ID and a new license string. Save this e-mail message!
 
How to re-license the appliance
Import a new license if you are adding functionality such as additional ports or speed capability, licensing a new replacement Matrix, or in the extremely rare instance where your license file is corrupt.
Prerequisite(s):  
License e-mail with the license string.
If you are upgrading several devices, your document matching each host name with its device license ID.
 
If you are upgrading several devices, you must import the license specific to that device. It is matched by the device license ID.
1. Locate the license string for the device to be re-licensed and copy the entire string (including the License Begin and License End lines) to your computer's clipboard.
This places the text string in memory and is used later in this procedure.
2. Starting in the dashboard, click System.
3. Click License.
4. Click Import License.
5. Paste the license string from step 1.
 
The license takes effect immediately. If your license adds new functionality, it is available now. No system restart is necessary.
 
 
If the license cannot be imported, it may be because the license:
Was incorrectly copied/pasted (in other words, characters are missing). Ensure the entire string block is copied.
Is invalid for this device. The string you copied may be a valid license, but not for this specific system. Double check the device license ID on from System > System Info.
Is invalid. Contact Technical Support.
 
How to decommission a Matrix
If you wish to decommission a Matrix—permanently removing it from your network infrastructure—you should also remove sensitive information and data from it. This can be accomplished with a factory reset.
Removing data from the Matrix can be accomplished in one of two ways.
If the Matrix is accessible on your network, you can perform a factory reset using a web browser. See How to factory reset a connected Matrix.
If the Matrix is already disconnected from your network, you can perform a hard reset on the physical appliance. See How to factory reset a disconnected Matrix.
 
Your previous settings, data, and network information will no longer be on the Matrix.
 
 
After you perform a factory reset, you can dispose of, shelve, or otherwise re-purpose the Matrix you are decommissioning.